In the Kitchen: Help! I’m a Bean Pie Addict.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.30.13 AM

My oldest sister is 10 years older than me and I use to love hanging with her. She would take me on adventures around Cleveland, or Chicago when she lived there, and I loved it. One day, while in Cleveland, she took me to Muslim restaurant for lunch, we ordered sandwiches, and she bought me a piece of bean pie. I’d never had it before, but because she said it was good I trusted her. And, she was right! I’ve loved it since then.

What is the origin of the bean pie? Followers of the Nation of Islam sold Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 10.30.13 AMthem to raise funds for the group. The group is still well known for their bean pies, but their numbers and notoriety aren’t as strong as they were when my parents and grandparents were with them. Although many of its original members left the Nation after the death of Elijah Muhammad and became Muslims, the influences of the bean pie are still strong in the African-American Muslim community. If you were to visit most Sunni masjids with a sizable African-American population and some Muslim businesses, more than likely, you’ll find some bean pies for sale or someone there can tell you where to find the pies or who bakes them.

The crust is usually perfectly flaky, but firm and not sloppy, with just the Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 10.24.40 AMright amount of sweetness and combination of seasonings. Some people eat the bean pies right out of the aluminum pan it came in with no fork necessary. I prefer to slice mine in quarters. You simply peel off the plastic wrap and bend away the thin foil pan it came in to expose the crust to take a bite. If you taste a pie that is made right, the taste is absolutely delicious. If it doesn’t taste that great, don’t blame the pie, rather blame the recipe. There are a lot of them out there and some are vastly different than others. Some may prefer to take it home to heat and eat, although I’m partial to the cold refrigerated pie. As with other foods, higher temperature makes the pie taste different, similar to how room temperature milk is tastes different compared to cold milk right out of the fridge.

With all my baking I had never made a bean pie until Christmas when I made pie for my cousin Derek, I tasted it and I must say I did a good job. MLK weekend I got the chance to make pie for my SisterFriend Michele, and a friend of hers, and she asked for the recipe! So, of course I must oblige. Who am I to deny the power of the bean pie?

If you decided to make the recipe and have questions feel free to contact me! It’s super easy, and yummy too! *NOTE: You need 2 deep crusts for this recipe because it makes enough for 2 pies.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 10.29.59 AM

Best Tasting Traditional Bean Pie
2 cups navy beans (cooked according to package instructions or two cans!)

Note: You’ll want to make sure that you have planned ahead to make this pie because you need to pre-soak the beans before you can cook them.

1 stick butter

2 tablespoons flour

4 eggs

1 teaspoon nutmeg

2 cups sugar

1 14oz. can evaporated milk

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons vanilla

Cook beans until soft. Preheat oven. to 350º degrees.

In electric blender, blend beans, butter, milk, eggs, nutmeg and flour about 2 minutes on medium speed. Pour mixture into a large mixing bowl. Add sugar and vanilla. Mix well. Pour into pie shells. Bake about one hour until golden brown. Makes 2 or 3 Bean Pies.

ENJOY!

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 10.33.35 AM

Categories: Baking | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen: Help! I’m a Bean Pie Addict.

  1. Thank you sister Sidney for this recipe.. I love me a good bean pie. There are a lot of people who never have tried one before. But I been eating them since the 70s..

    Like

    • enterprisingsidney

      They are easy to make and I would venture to say one of the tastiest pies relative to the work put in.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Dr. Julissa Hernandez, ND, CNHP

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

my eye review.

David Hare

Author, trainer, coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

