Blindsided by a Crab: 3 Things About That Crab in the Barrel

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 9.04.50 AM

No matter what you do there will always be naysayers and people who will attempt to rain on your parade. In fact, the more you are in motion the more of it you will see. Often people call that a Crab in the Barrel mentality. I do not know about that, follow me. I’m in a barrel with other crabs, I can only assume another crab will crab my pincer or leg, that how it is in that Barrel Life. However, if I’m a crawfish in a bucket and my tail gets snagged by a crab I might be confused by that, “what are you doing here?”

A friend of mine was promoting a free event I have and someone I do not know made some off handed comments that caught me off guard, being the proverbial crab in the crawfish bucket. I didn’t expect the crab to be in the bucket! Here’s some of what I learned in that brief moment:

  1. Crabs can show up at any time, for no reason. That is what they do how I respond to the crab makes a difference for me.
  2. Crabs are naturally aggressive, hey can’t help it. Don’t believe me, look it up.
  3. All is not lost! Crabs can work together to provide food, protection, and shelter if they so choose.

So, with that, I’ll continue my crawfish life and simply be prepared for crabs to show up. I have to remember that if I was not doing anything, making some waves, and moving around in the bucket I would not be a target. I’d rather be a target, make a difference for others, and deal with the occasional crab than to do nothing or worse be another crab in the bucket.

Here’s information about the event the crab, Sebastian (my Little Mermaid reference), attempted to foil. You are welcome to message me or send an email to sidneygaskins@gmail.com to register.
Screen Shot 2014-05-30 at 10.52.04 AM

BRAINSTORM YOUR IDEA: Do you have an idea you’ve been wanting to brainstorm with someone (book, presentation, project, business)? Are you wondering about new avenues for business? Perfect. I’m jumping back into brainstorming sessions and firing up BrainstormHer again….it’s been a while, but I can’t wait. I’ve downloaded a new platform to use and am inviting 10 people to the initial session as I work with the technology, share resources, and brainstorm with you! The session is a 45-minute, two-way video chat.If you are ready to take a leap, send a Facebook message to me with your eMail address. You will receive information about logging in for the session and a free gift!When: Monday, June 2nd
Time: 8:30pm CST/ 9:30pm EST (45 minutes)
Cost: FREE

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Julissa Hernandez, ND

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

my eye review.

David Hare

The Buddhist Life Coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

