I Dare You to Get Out of the Cage.

Months ago I recorded a video of me lip syncing to Brave by Sara Bareilles. Besides being a catchy tune, the lyrics are a call to step out of your comfort zone, speak up, take action, tell the truth, and be brave. Brave does not mean you are free of fear. It only means that the fear does not win you over. It means that you want something else more than you want to stay where you are.

Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 9.35.07 PM

Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live. Yes, there is. When you look what you need and what you have or want there is a gap. No matter who you are, there is a gap. You might want to go on a trip, buy a new car, get a raise,purchase a house, start a business, or simply be able to cover your monthly bills regularly with no stress. That might be the cage you are in right now and you think there is no way out. The way out of the cage is to be brave enough to admit there is a gap, speak up about what you need and want, and be brave enough to take unprecedented actions. Sometimes unprecedented action is deciding to use what you have to get what you want and being brave enough to sell it.

In 2008, I wrote a curriculum to help people focus on what they want in life or business, take strategic steps, and achieve their goals. I wanted to use it to help people and make money doing it. When I sent it to a friend to look over he called and said, “Did you write this?” Feeling like I was in the Principal’s Office, I sheepishly said, “Yes.” He asked if I could help someone else do the same thing and I knew I could. From that conversation came a referral for my first curriculum development client, and made $1375 on that contract. Following that I received another referral resulting in a $5000 contract for curriculum and manual creation. All because I was brave enough to share something with someone. That was a breakthrough for me. It was the start of confidence in knowing I can do a curriculum development and manual creation for someone else, have it be successful, and be paid well. For me that was BRAVE!

Just a month ago I completed graduate school, and decided it is time to be BRAVE. Jumping right into what I love, and that is helping others cover the gap through brainstorming ideas, finding and expanding existing opportunities, networking, and moving forward with velocity. Not “someday”, but TODAY. Get ready to show your BRAVE.

Be Brave. Plan your success. I am showing my brave and invite you to join me at Create Your Strategy. Participate from home!

LEARN MORE HERE!

Categories: Motivation | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Julissa Hernandez, ND

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

beauty, fashion and life

David Hare

The Buddhist Life Coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

