Water Wednesday: Is the Struggle Real?

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 12.38.10 PM

 

A few months ago, I was thinking about what it means to struggle. To me struggle seems negative, it seems heavy, and often is used as a stronghold or excuse. For example, people talk about being “in the struggle” or things like that. The definition of struggle is “make forceful or violent efforts to get free of restraint or constriction” or “a forceful or violent effort to get free of restraint or resist attack.” Just reading it can make someone react. It does that to me. However, I think that transforming the perception of struggle or simply giving up the idea that everything has to be a struggle can free me. What makes me think that?

 

Well, squirrels don’t struggle to get food, they just go do it until they have what they need. Plants don’t struggle to Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 12.41.28 PMgrow, they simply grow towards their food source. Think about how a seed grows or how the roots of a tree grow. If there is a rock or something in the way, they simply grow around the obstruction. There’s no struggle to move the rock or obstruction, the instinct is to find another way to get what is needed. That perspective eliminates the struggle, the need for “forceful or violent efforts” and the “restraint or constriction.” What would happen if you took the perspective of taking a new avenue to get around the obstacle, releasing the violent efforts, and riding with the wave of freedom? It is my perspective that when you can release the struggle things just flow.

How does this tie into my fast? Good question! Read on.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-10 at 7.32.17 AM

MY UPDATE

September 24

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 12.56.56 PMThis past week was full of emotions, dehydration, choices, and clarity. The struggle for me was to give up struggling. For 3-4 days, I could barely drink water, the taste in my mouth was awful, I was dizzy, and unable to be clear about some things. What I struggled with was sticking to the plan I created. Sometimes I tend to stick to my plan, possibly to my detriment. However, there was a day when I made it acceptable to take a new avenue or path, not too far, but enough to keep to what I want. I wanted to stay on water, but was so dehydrated and weak that I had to first attempted to drink Spring water instead of Distilled. That worked for a day, then, I had to find something else because it was impacting my ability to complete my work. So, I bought coconut water which is hydrating by nature. That hit the spot! I felt like I was reenergized, and I’d saved my own life. When I think back on it, it’s a reflection of my own life. And, learning to change my path quickly is necessary. Doing it with ease is necessary. Most of all, doing it without having to know all the “how’s” about it is imperative! So, although the weight loss is 5lbs. I’ve learned that it’s perfectly alright to stay the course, jump the hurdles in the way, and pivot when needed (basketball days kicking in!). With 22 days left, I’m clear that there is much to conquer. I’m clear that I have many things I want to conquer, the first thing is giving up “the struggle”. I look forward to sharing the new adventures coming because of giving up the need to have a struggle be real! Join me!

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 9.19.41 AM

DAY 19 WEIGHT LOSS: 5lbs.

Cumulative Loss to Date: 30lb.

Next Wednesday: Flash Dance and a Feeling

Top: 4 weeks ago
Bottom: Today, September 24.

Can you see the difference? I can!

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 1.23.24 PM

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Julissa Hernandez, ND

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

beauty, fashion and life

David Hare

The Buddhist Life Coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

