LIFE LAB 180º: Focus

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 6.22.20 PM“but there was nothing I could do to dim the supernovae exploding inside my brain, an endless chain of intra cranial firecrackers” -John Green

LIFE CHART #2: That quote explains how I feel about the impending beginning of this doctoral program. Let me say, I always thought about a doctorate, but never thought I was smart enough. Heavens, I barely thought I was smart enough to get into a graduate program because of the entrance examination. That alone deterred me for 10 years, well not just that. Anyway, there is a list of things to work on, do, or take care of in this Life Lab. Due to Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 6.29.28 AMthat I wonder if I should have ever taken this on – and, I haven’t even read the first page of my text book yet.

As my list grows the more I know I have to be organized, deliberate, and focused. Ticey, a childhood friend of mine, has a little saying about being focused on being focused. That is what I have to remember. Last night, “overwhelm” was the word. And, waking this morning, it is the same. I am overwhelmed by it all. Not just the process, but the gap between the life I want and the one I recognize I have right now.

There is always the conversation about “breath”, step back, and more, but there is nothing that can change what I am facing. It feels like a Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 6.27.15 AMtornado sucking everything into it – the eye of it never goes away. I only wish there was some way to stop it. It seems that the remedy truly is just to wait it out. Yet, that feels like ay to much. Can’t I just disappear for a little while someone takes care of the assessments, reports, emails, assignments, Mom stuff – my life?

 

Yes, this is that “entry”, the “OH HEAVENS! I FEEL LIKE I’M DROWNING,” one. And, yes, “this too will pass.” At the same time, I know that someone else is feeling it too. So, here is the coach in me for me and for you. Keep going. Communicate with others. Be alright with riding the wave. Feel the overwhelm. Cry or don’t, just do what works. Create a plan to manage it all. And, plan a day of self-care (sleep, shopping, ice cream, family time, hiking) whatever that is for you. Be water through it all. It will come, flow with it.

Today, I will be water. Complete these assessments with elementary school kids. Work on some reports. Read the chapter for this class and write my first assignment. Then, at some point sit outside.

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 6.31.26 AMBE WATER.

Categories: Motivation | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Julissa Hernandez, ND

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

beauty, fashion and life

David Hare

The Buddhist Life Coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

