LIFE LAB 180º: The Rain in Texas Edition

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 6.22.20 PM“The best laid schemes of Mice and Men
oft go awry,
And leave us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!” -Robert Burns

LIFE CHART #3: Rain, rain go away. We don’t need anymore, not one more day! The rain strikes again. I live in the Dallas-Fort Worth area of Texas where rains have taken their toll on every aspect of life. Fortunately there has been no significant personal toll, it has all been seen on the news. What I am aware of today is that I had plans. Plans. Plans. Plans. And the water has changed them.

Two friends and I were heading to Irving to attend the DFW Women’s Expo featuring speakers such as Tabatha Coffey, Melissa Gibert, Nancy Grace, and Nene Leakes. During the early morning the rain started, again. One of my friends send a text indicated she was worried about the flash flooding in her area. I texted the other to cancel. And, so the whole “Be Water” is apparent today because I had my plan that included visiting Pan African Connection to pick up clothing for a cultural expo.

 

With my doctoral program beginning, I guess the reading has to be done. I write adoption reports and have a family of 10 kids to complete, I guess that could be on the agenda. And for the expo, my partner and I are going to have to come up with something that works for Sierra Leone. Right now I’m feeling like “faith like flowing water” is a part of this all. Being consistent no matter what and continuing no matter what. For me, it seems like there is so much to be done in such a small amount of time. Reports. Expo. Class starts. Assessments. Life.

Screen Shot 2015-05-31 at 6.19.04 PMScreen Shot 2015-06-02 at 7.38.41 AM

 

“Faith like flowing water” is a concept I read about in the Living Buddhism magazine. Reading it has transformed my perspective in how I perceive, act, and take in what is going on. Right now, I could say I have no choice but to do “X”, but I do. Flowing water is consistent and continuous. About this topic the article reads,

The belief of some is like fire while that of others is like water. When the former listen to the teachings, their passion flares up like fire, but as time goes on, they tend to discard their faith. To have faith like water means to believe continuously without ever regressing.

 

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 1.51.56 PM

How do I apply that right now? I have to simply do what I know in all areas of my life. If I want good health, I need to be consistent in my choices. If I want to be financially stable, I have to make choices that are consistent with that perspective. If I want a healthy relationship, I need to be consistent in finding those qualities that are what I desire with no shame. If I want a great career, I have to be bold, confident, and consistent in that pursuit. If I desire to be spiritually fulfilled and grown, I have to pursue it “continuously without regressing“. Does “continuously without regressing” mean I don’t have days where all of this seem too much, annoying, overwhelming, and whatever else? No. To me, it means that I have the feeling, acknowledge them, and take action anyway. I invite you to read the article here, Faith like Flowing Water. I made available from my magazine so keep the snickers down at my scanning capabilities.

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 7.43.24 AM

“Nothing in the world is as soft and yielding as water, yet nothing can better overcome the hard and strong.” –Lao-Tzu

Through this process I’ll keep in mind the words of Lao-Tzu, while remembering that when I see water hit a rock and splash up I smile like it is celebrating. So, I’m going to celebrate something just because I can.

* I wrote about how I want to inspire others and be water, I invite you to read it here.

 

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 7.44.56 AMBE WATER.

Categories: Motivation | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “LIFE LAB 180º: The Rain in Texas Edition

  1. Sean

    Another great read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Dr. Julissa Hernandez, ND, CNHP

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

my eye review.

David Hare

Author, trainer, coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

