LIFE LAB 180º: 3 Magnificent Ways to Stay on the Ride of Life

 Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 6.22.20 PM

“The people and circumstance around me do not make me what I am, they reveal who I am.”
Laura Schlessinger

 

LIFE CHART #16: Over the past week, I been overwhelmed, stressed, and simply not been myself. When this happens I sleep, its like being around someone with a form of narcolepsy. The plans I have for the next 3-6 months seem daunting and that causes me to feel that it’s too much. I have the plan, Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 3.34.01 PMbut now the execution looks like an obstacle course. Have you ever felt like that or am I alone? Circumstances are often thought to be the overwhelming factors in decisions and choices. Maybe this will be good news for some, circumstances are simply “accessory facts or details” that we often give undue credence. For me circumstances can be a source of fear or doubt. In the current “economic” state, we are bombarded with circumstances: unemployment rates, high prices, and fear of “x” happening. Right now, there are few conversations for having life be a blessing regardless of the circumstances. Those conversations are not always easy when we consider or look at circumstances. Life is just one circumstance after another, each day hands us circumstance after circumstance. How do you manage to live through them and come out as a diamond? As I step into a new phase this is the time to reflect and build anew. Maybe you too are going through a new phase, change, transformation, or are making new choices to move to a new place in life. I invite you to take these 3 actions to heart, repeat them, and enjoy the magnificent ride that is life.
Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 3.14.19 PM
1. Relax
A few years ago, I realized that I was getting headaches and migraines more than I had been before. As I paid attention to when they came I found that I was clenching my jaws (called bruxism). Since then, I have learned to pay attention to my body, the sensations, and results. It is clear to me that these headaches and migraines are the result of circumstances more than anything. Often when we are in the middle of the storm or circumstance the tension is unbelievable, frustration is high, and it is hard to see our way out. Find a place of quiet, which may mean turning off the television, radio, cell phone, computer, and refusing company to gather your thoughts. Often times I clean, tidy up, retreat to my bedroom where I do the same, and  then simply lay on the bed with candles lit. Relaxing will allow you to let the racing in your mind to slow down, it will quiet the voices, and release any emotions that have been bottled up. I am not a crier, but I do it. It is a release it allows me to let go of the tension inside. Relaxing takes practice, it took me a while to get used to, and I still have to force myself to be. Once you allow yourself to relax you can begin to clearly create a plan of action. This month I am taking the weekend of the 26th to read A Weekend to Change Your Life. One of the exercises requires being alone, that for me is going to be hiking somewhere and sitting alone to complete some of the exercises. Consider a weekend to focus yourself, reflect, release, and create an action plan for yourself.
Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 3.29.03 PM
2. ReGroove
ReGrooving is the process of planning to do something that is different from what you have been doing. I cannot say how many times I have done this. It takes learning about your strengths and weaknesses, skills and talents, revealing opportunities, and discovering and addressing what threatens your regroove. You have to take stock of your abilities, what talents you possess, and all of the resources at your disposal. Yes, it includes finances, people, jobs, locations, time, discipline, and the ability to focus even when emotional. The new actions you will take may be radical and unexpected; they will take courage and planning, and will move you to a new level of responsibility, freedom, joy, and peace. They will have you take stock of who you are, what and who are important, where you want to be, and seek resources to support you. This is where you begin to purge the old and produce new blossoms. As a part of this process you will begin to see all you have which will lead you into the last, but most important step.
Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 3.24.00 PM
3. Rejoice
In hard times or in circumstances when you do not see the light at the end of the tunnel, the simple Principle of Thanks is necessary. Why rejoice last? To rejoice you have to be able to see what you already have, if you never stop to see it, you will never appreciate it enough to “be gladdened”. The word “rejoice” is a verb, which means it is active, you cannot rejoice passively. Be glad that you have the opportunity to move your life to another level, be glad that you have the people around you, be glad that you have a voice to speak, be glad that you have a mind to create, and you will be amazed at how your circumstances become a stepping stone. It is not always easy to rejoice. I have been in a position where I have had less than $20 in the bank, however, I still had a roof over my head, my son had clothes, my car had gas, and we had food. For a 6 month period I did not have a car, but I had a bike to get to the store or anywhere else I needed to go. During that time I was thankful for everything. I learned to appreciate everything from the air pump for my bike to the light in the refrigerator. December of last year (2013) I shared my experience of regrooving and the circumstances via a Youtube video. At first I was ashamed, embarrassed, and hesitant. I chose to do the video not because I thought I had “madi it”, but because I knew there were others who were going through or getting ready to go through what I had experienced and wanted to be transparent, inspire, and encourage someone else through their circumstance. Circumstances are a part of life, let them be a part of building what you want and allow them to reveal the diamond within. It is with these 3 actions and strategic planning that you can make a difference. Rejoice! Enjoy something! This weekend, I will be at a jazz club for the first time in way too many years. I am going to dress up, hang with friends, and enjoy the evening. I will rejoice in who I am, rejoice for having friends, rejoice for having a place to go, rejoice for loving my life just the way it is, and rejoice for the ride.
Please press the link and take the ride!

BE WATER.

Feel free to leave comments! I always respond.
Enjoy the ride.
Categories: Motivation | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Julissa Hernandez, ND

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

my eye review.

David Hare

The Buddhist Life Coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

