21 Day Water Fast: No Mud, No Lotus

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 6.39.16 PM

The secret to happiness is to acknowledge and transform suffering, not to run away from it.
– Thich Nhat Hanh

Fasting, for me, starting as a desire to rid myself of the depression, fears, frustration, guilt, grief, and anxiety that had been plaguing me for may years. I could rehash a variety of stories, but I will simply share with simplicity.

In 2002, my mother died; 2004, my maternal grandmother died; 2004, I moved with my son to Georgia; 2007, my father died; 2008, two of my homes were foreclosed on; 2009, I ended my relationship; 2010, I moved back to Ohio and began graduate school; and 2011, we moved to Texas. Now you have a snapshot. Here are some tidbits, when I got to Ohio I had $700 to my name, we left Ohio with 4 bags and shipped everything else, and during the majority of this time I was overweight and not confident. Off and on I worked out, but also could not find employment even with a degree. When the fall of 2012 came around I was overwhelmed, sad, anxious all the time, frustrated, and tired of it all. I purposely stopped communicating with many people – a self-imposed desert experience. In December 2012, I decided I needed to do something drastic and the only thing that came to mind was a fast. It was the most drastic thing I knew to do that could possibly reset everything. So, I took it on for spiritual, mental, and physical reasons.

                                  Me (2012)

During that 40 days, I did not have a car, was not working, and remained in graduate school. In fact, I traveled to Atlanta for a Residency while fasting. The whole experience showed me what was possible for me. I had people who thought I was crazy for taking it one, others who thought I would damage something, and, then, there were those who completely understood the stance I was making for myself and my life. One person asked me why and I said that I felt like if I wanted something I had never had before I needed to do something I had never done, and the fast was it for me. I lost 48 pounds, my skin cleared up, my tastes changed, I saw clearer both physically and mentally, and haven’t turned back. It has not been easy, but I am aware when the depression comes, when anxiety shows up, and I regulate it with diet and exercise.

            First picture after the fast. February, 2013

I am committed to being healthy in every area of my life that takes attention and balance. My commitment is evidenced by my withdrawal from a doctoral program for Industrial and Organizational Psychology to pursue certification as a personal trainer, investigate homeopathic medicine and/or herbology, and pair them with my Master’s Degree in Mental Health Counseling. However, before that my desire was to meet people in my area since I was new. I started running at a local park and one day I saw a group of Black women running. It struck me because I had been to that park before, but never had I seen so many Black women there. When I inquired I found out that they were a group from Black Girls Run! Dallas. That was the end of June, the next month I ran 100 miles by the 31st! I pay attention to what I eat by following the Eat Right 4 Your Type plan for my blood type as well. My life has changed drastically since February 2013, and my first water fast because I was willing to take on the mud of my life as well as do something drastic.

                   Comparison: 2012 and October 2015

“No mud, No lotus” is a reference to Thich Nhat Hanh and the lotus flower. Often when we go into a fast it is because we are coming through the mud of life looking for something new. A lotus flower grows through mud to expose its beauty. It is the muddy water, a metaphor for suffering, that makes the lotus so unique. Thich Nhat Hanh acknowledges that because suffering can feel so bad, we try to run away from it or cover it up by consuming. We find something to eat, turn on the television, spend time in large groups, or avoid facing what needs to be faced. But unless we’re able to face our suffering, struggles, challenges, and at the basic level, ourselves we can’t be present and available to life, and happiness will continue to elude us. It is through fasting that we can recognize the strength in ourselves, uncover the wonders that we are, see the possibilities in the world and become happier and healthier. Come through the mud to reveal the lotus.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.38.12 PM

“It’s like growing lotus flowers. You cannot grow lotus flowers on marble. You have to grow them on the mud. Without mud, you cannot have a lotus flower. ”-Thich Nhat Hahn
Categories: Holistic Health, Motivation | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “21 Day Water Fast: No Mud, No Lotus

  1. Warren Gray

    Wonderful testimony to self awareness, courage and humility.
    Continue on the journey of self discovery.
    Share everything that you value.
    Respect and Acknowledgement.

    Like

  2. Adrienne

    You look fabulous. I am so proud of you. Lets try to talk this year.

    Like

    • enterprisingsidney

      Thank you immensely! Send me a message with your information and we can make it happen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Julissa Hernandez, ND

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

beauty, fashion and life

David Hare

The Buddhist Life Coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

