Behind the Fast: I’m YOUniquely Financed

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.17.11 PM

Hmf! This fast has started off with a bang. Not literally, but figuratively so. Whenever I begin a fast I usually am prepared for everything I desire, want, and need to be a struggle. Everything becomes a challenge because of the focus. This time is no different.

The irony of commitment is that it’s deeply liberating — in work, in play, in love. The act frees you from the tyranny of your internal critic, from the fear that likes to dress itself up and parade around as rational hesitation. To commit is to remove your head as the barrier to your life. – Anne Morriss

 

I just left gongyo celebrating the new year and checked my bank account. THE SHOCK! THE HORROR! UGH! Let’s just say I was not impressed by what I saw. And, so, I began to think about all the things I have been striving for and put at stake with this fast – one is financial increase and stability. With that in mind, I am aware that what I saw was not devastating, but it was a result of being in survival mode for so long and my inattention to details as I once had done. Now that I am clear about that, I can sorta breathe and take on those things that will support my goal of financial increase that will create the stability. Makes sense right?!

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 5.15.13 PM Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 5.15.24 PM

 

What makes me excited about this mishap, well kinda sorta excited, is that I know I have talents that can bring about stability. Over the past 10 years I have consulted, written training manuals, done executive and personal coaching, refurbished furniture, worked at a cemetery/funeral home (yes, I did!), contracted writing adoption reports, been a truancy mentor, been a program coordinator, and stated a gourmet popcorn business (I LOVE POPCORN! Check out Popliciousness on FB.). I’ve been told to “pick one thing”, but I have also paid attention to Warren Buffet who speaks about multiple streams of income. He says, “Never depend on a single income, make investments to create a second source,” and surely he can’t be against more that a second source considering he is worth $66.7 billion. That did not happen by only working at Whataburger all his life and being a miser. It’s called diversifying – read about it.

 

YOUniquely Me.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 3.47.10 PM Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 3.46.50 PM Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 3.43.10 PM
It has taken me a while to be alright with saying I have many talents and letting them be exposed. We are all too often conditioned to “pick one thing” and forget about the many talents we have been given. They are there for many reasons. I remember not having a job while in graduate school and needing money to pay bills. What did I do? While driving home I stopped at the flea market, picked up two bamboo chairs, bought sand paper and spray paint as well as shellac. It took me two days to complete the projects and I make $75 which paid my cell phone bill. I refurbished an Army footlocker and was offered $275 for it! have coached people looking for internships, and been paid well for it. To stop being me to make others feel comfortable about how things should be is inauthentic for my life. I love teaching, cooking, exercising, coaching, laughing, training, researching, and them all well because that is who I am.

 

During this time of fasting I am going to work every aspect of my talents and gifts to create financial stability. That means being aware of where I am, what steps will Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 5.21.08 PMmove me forward, and moving quickly. Steve Maraboli says that the universe doesn’t give us what we ask for in our minds or thoughts. Meaning, just thinking something does not make it happen. He goes on to say that the universe gives us what we demand with our actions. When we take action towards goals, desires, wants, or needs the sheer energy of our actions begins to move things towards having the goal achieved. When I do nothing, I get more of doing nothing. My thoughts will not make popcorn be sold, but my action will. My thoughts will not have a book sold, but my action will. My thoughts are useful in creation, yet, without action they are only dreams. Daydreams can come true if I am willing to take action on them. Daydreams, for me, are where I see things coming together, get great ideas, run through scenarios, and kill other thoughts or dreams that don’t fit. That is the mental lab, but again, taking action is where the physical lab begin to take shape and produce results. All results are not going to be the immediate success I desire. The results to tell me what works, what doesn’t, if this is a good idea, how much money is being made or lost, and whether I put in enough effort (time, thought, and money) in it all.

…BUCKLE DOWN & EXPAND…

So, here I am at day 2 of 21 and the financial perspective has shown up. That only pushes me to buckle down and expand my thinking and reach as well as use all of my talents and gifts to reach my goals. I’ll start by researching such things as Digit, Acorns, Mint, and Level Money. Well, since I have mentioned them it seems only right that I begin researching each and write a review. That’s what I get! You’re welcome. Anywhoo….Let’s go Popliciousness – the ideas have been flowing and the action has come as well. Take action with the things you love, have talent to do, are skilled in, and watch what happens. Let’s see what January 22nd holds in finances.

 

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 6.39.16 PM

 

Categories: Motivation | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

NAMI Notes on Public Policy

Keeping you updated on current mental health policy issues.

thetexasfoodnetwork

This page is for everyone who loves food. If you love to cook, love to eat, love to talk about recipes, this is your page. Regardless of your cooking skill level there will be recipes here for you, and feel free to share your own here as well.

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Diary of a Lapsed Athlete

Reclaiming fitness...if the cupcakes don't get me first!

StaceyTheFabulous

Your favorite blogging afro as seen on Dr Oz! Nutrition & Fitness Coach. Founder of Gotham City Elites, NY's premiere members only club for FitPros

Pieces of me............

Everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

Catherine Cuisine

Gourmandise assumée, plaisir assuré...

DrJulissa.com - Official Website of Julissa Hernandez, ND

The ultimate resource for blunt, direct, and trusted information on natural health matters from Julissa Hernandez, ND.

Our Legaci

Celebrating Black Culture & Life with J.A.M. Aiwuyor

Push Pray Grind

Philippians 4:13

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

healthyrelationships2013

This Word Press site facilitates discussion about healthy relationships

missjessamy

beauty, fashion and life

David Hare

The Buddhist Life Coach

Soulster Vibes

Spotlight on Independent and Underground Music Artists

